top of page
  • Writer's pictureCyn

Verbal Or Nonverbal?

In todays communications class we discussed the basic principles of nonverbal communications. This class was pretty interesting to me because I hadn't realized how much we communicate daily without actually using our mouths. Something as small as pointing or even just making a certain facial expression is a form of nonverbal communications. My professor told a story in class about her nephew that I found pretty relatable. She explained how her nephew had a problem controlling his facial expressions. This was a pretty funny story for me because I know how he feels. I've had many encounters where my friends had to tell me to fix my face because you could easily tell what I was thinking based off just my face alone. I do agree with my professors nephew, it does get hard trying to control your face because you're not used to it. Some may look at uncontrollable facial expressions as a negative thing while I look at it as an advantage. Imagine a world with no emotion, no feelings, no thoughts, or opinions; that would be one dull world. I don't always speak my mind but my face will say whatever I'm thinking.

7 views0 comments
bottom of page